Getting back into the web game…

Posted on December 3, 2010

0


I have to admit that it has been a while since I coded a web site. I initially learned my HTML and Photoshop skills whilst studying at Stellenbosch University where I completed my Bphil journalism honors degree.

What a year I would tell you…or anyone else who has undertaken that degree. To summarize what went on you, and a group of 20 or so other enthusiasts, are locked in the confines of 24 Crozier Str (affectionately known as Crazier Str by some of us 😉 where you study various journalistic skills, one of them being web design. I designed my first two web sites there (my personal web site and a faux news web site). To accomplish that I spent 3 weeks learning HTML and Dreamweaver and missed out on two vacations. Well worth it I would say.

But that was more than 3 years ago at this point and I am out of practise (save for the workshops I have been taking with Indiana University’s IT Services) and I am keen on jumping back into the field. You see I came to the States to become an interactive producer: a digital writer, photographer, videographer. Web design is an integral element in that field and I am getting back to the basics to achieve that goal. Currently I am a third of the way through a Flash CS4 book and beginning to work through a HTML 5 and CSS tutorial.

Let’s see what I create.

Enhanced by Zemanta
